Oxford Country Cottages Guests’ Comments

Here we have a range of reviews kindly written by our guests from the guest books in each cottage, some copied, some photographed and some from Trip Advisor. To add your review on Trip Advisor please click on the link below.

Guests’ Comments from the guest books in each cottage

‘We stayed here for four nights in April. Family of two adults and two teenagers. We stayed in Magdelan cottage and also had our dog with us. 
I was impressed as soon as we arrived. There is a lovely quiet road through the village of Noke with beautiful houses and idyllic countryside. The cottages were easy to find and there was plenty of parking. We found a trolley to use up carry our things. We had ordered a Sainsbury’s click and collect in oxford which worked very well.
The gardens are stunning and beautifully maintained. Our cottage was immaculate and clean with one very large bedroom. The bunks were fine for two tall gangly teenagers! Even our dog was made to feel welcome with his own bed, bowl and some dog treats. Lovely touch. On the table we found fresh farm eggs, homemade marmalade as well as brownies and some delicious bread. So very welcome.
Cupboards very well stocked with everything you need for a short break. We cooked most of the time and never came across anything missing or poor quality. One night we ate fish and chips at kidlington but I wouldn’t recommend them at all!
On site there is everything you may need. Laundry room, little shop, hot tub and the lovely owners felicity and James also got out a great table tennis table and bikes for us to borrow. We really enjoyed these. Nothing seems to be too much trouble for them.
The cottages are set next to an rspb reserve and we had some very nice walks along here. We even borrowed some binoculars from the owners. Great if you have a dog.
We visited the didcot railway centre. Very enjoyable in the sunshine and also got park and ride into Oxford. A fabulous day.
The hot tub was well used by the children. Clean and quiet and a lovely temperature.
I cannot fault this place at all and we’ve stayed in lots of premier country cottages. We loved the touches like organic shampoos, bath oils, plentiful cleaning products, helpful maps, very good kitchen equipment, magazines, lovely beds with excellent bed linen to name a few. Slept really well. I also liked the fact that there were no annoying notices everywhere. Do this and don’t do that etc.
A great location and top notch accommodation. Strongly recommend.
Thanks Felicity, James and team x’

Jacqui – April 2017

‘Had a great break and cottage was very peaceful,.lovely countryside and wonderful pubs to eat in.
Cottage was very clean and had superb facilities.
Very quiet location and great place to re charge the batteries.’

Genaro – March 2016

‘My friends and I enjoyed so much our stay that we are looking forward to spending another holiday there.The cottages are amazingly furnished and perfectly looked-after, with more details than you would expect. Not only are the cottages top quality but the location is perfect to visit Oxford and the beautiful area. We had the chance to meet James only in the morning before our departure as we were out all day but we were aware that we would be able to call him at any time if we needed help. He was also extremely flexible when we informed him that we would arrive late at night. I would recommend Oxford Country Cottages to anybody who wishes to live an experience in an authentic British atmosphere.’

Daniela T – Feb 2016

‘We spent 5 weeks here between out of country military postings, and the children (11, 9 and 5) wanted to move in permanently! Im a great believer in ‘experiences are what you make them’ but, from the lovely safe, small cottage gardens, Bob, the super-friendly owners black Labrador, the ducks on the duck pond down the chicken-and-sheep-lined lane to the miniature pony and the bird sanctuary, (all found on whilst walking here there and everywhere) it’s like a little piece of quintessential English heaven and difficult not to have a wonderful time here. We are already planning to go back for a week or so this summer… (We currently live abroad so appreciated it all that much more!) Yes, it’s more expensive than other rental properties locally, but to us it was worth every last penny. The cottage itself was very clean, lived-in but well maintained, with attention to detail, comfortable, and extremely well equipped, the on-site honesty shop and laundry facilities are simply fantastic. The owners have literally thought of everything, and if they haven’t they will bend over backwards to help you out. I give a lot of 5* ratings on Trip Advisor, but that’s because I’m extremely fussy about where we stay, (yes, you can call me a snob), but this place absolutely earned every point on every star! So book to stay, don those wellies, and go for long and lovely walks and when you get back throw open the stable door and let in all that beautiful fresh country air… (Feeling a little homesick after writing this…)’

Carrie – Sept 2015

‘We stayed at the Blenheim cottage with 6 adults and a baby. It is a nice confortable cottage, everyting we could need was availble including everything for the baby. When we arived there were home made brownies, jam, bread and fresh egg’s waiting for us. The jacuzzy was fantastic and the garden was beautiful. We loved the little store with local produce. It is the perfect place for a family holiday with kids. As long as you have a car because around the cottages is only a big nature park wich is lovely to walk but not good if you need groceries. We went for trips to oxford and to Blenheim castle. It was a lovely stay.’

Rosa V – May 2015

‘So close to Oxford and so far from it! Well equipped and peaceful! Efficient supervision! Very good package!’

Patrick Meyer, July 2013

‘We could fill the book with all the complimentary things we have to say – have had a great time in a beautiful cottage in an idyllic location!’

Paul and Jude Edward, August 2013

‘Comfy bed and cool garden!’

Harry Edward (Aged 7) – August 2013

‘I liked all the pretty flowers, running on the paths and the butterfiles’

Molly Edward (Aged 4) – August 2013

‘The brownies were awesome and so was the garden. We’ll be back…dun…dun..dun!’

James Edward (Aged 10) – August 2013

‘I had a really lovely holiday here and I can’t wait to come back. I think the house and garden are both lovely and my bed was uber comfy!’

Ellie Edward (Aged 13) – August 2013

Blenheim Cottage was the perfect location for our family Christmas.  The cottage was warm and cosy with plenty of space in the big open plan kitchen/living room for everyone. It was bright and clean and provided everything we needed, including logs for the wood-burner and all the mod-cons in the kitchen.  Lots of walks along footpaths and across the fields to an excellent pub.  James and Felicity were helpful and friendly, we had a very enjoyable stay and are already planning the next one!

Candida Groom, London (Blenheim Cottage, Christmas 2011, 2012 & 2013)